Rhea Tregebov is the author of seven collections of poetry, most recently All Souls’, which was released by Signal Editions/Véhicule Press in September 2012. Her poetry has received a number of awards, including the Pat Lowther Award for her first book, Remembering History, as well as The Malahat Review Long Poem Award, honorary mention in the National Magazine Awards, and the Prairie Schooner Reader’s Choice Prize. For a statement on her approach to  poetry, see her translation of Pablo Neruda’s “Poetry”.

All Souls’ 

Signal Editions/Véhicule Press

September 2012

ISBN: 978-1-55065-338-0









(alive): Selected and new poems

Wolsak and Wynn (2004)

ISBN: 9-780919-897984








The Strength of Materials
Wolsak and Wynn (2001)

ISBN: 0919897762








Mapping the Chaos
Signal Editions, Véhicule Press (1995)

ISBN: 155065070X








The Proving Grounds
Signal Editions, Véhicule Press (1991)

ISBN: 1550650181








No One We Know

Mercury/ Aya Press (1986)

ISBN: 0920544444








Remembering History
Guernica Edition (1982)

ISBN: 0919349161







Read “Gender, Jewish Identity and Cultural Memory in the Poetry of Rhea Tregebov” by Donna Hollenberg.

Listen to Tregebov reading at Toronto’s Scream in the Park spoken word festival (1998).

2 Responses to “Poetry”

  1. admin 19. Jun, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    The translation of the Neruda poem above is about as close as I can come to how poetry has affected my life. For those to whom it sounds familiar, a different translation was featured in the 1994 Italian film about Neruda, Il Postino (The Postman).RT

  2. admin 19. Jun, 2010 at 6:30 pm #


    And it was at that age … Poetry arrived
    in search of me. I don’t know, don’t know where
    it came from – winter, a river.
    Don’t know how or when,
    no, not voices, not
    words, or silence,
    but from a street it called me,
    from the branches of night,
    suddenly among others,
    among violent fires
    or going home alone,
    there I was without a face
    and it touched me.

    – Pablo Neruda

    From the poem, “Poetry” [Poesía] originally published in Pablo Neruda’s 1964 collection, Memorial de Isla Negra.

    Translation © Rhea Tregebov


    Y fue a esa edad… Llegó la poesía
    a buscarme. No sé, no sé de dónde
    salió, de invierno o río.
    No sé cómo ni cuándo,
    no, no eran voces, no eran
    palabras, ni silencio,
    pero desde una calle me llamaba,
    desde las ramas de la noche,
    de pronto entre los otros,
    entre fuegos violentos
    o regresando solo,
    allí estaba sin rostro
    y me tocaba.

Leave a Reply